DUI, Multiple DUI’s

DUI, Multiple DUI’s

We will work diligently to protect your rights.

The Law Office of Jim A. Trevino provides dedicated and comprehensive legal representation in a variety of areas serving Hanford, Lemoore, Avenal, Corcoran, Fresno, Clovis.  When you need an experienced, aggressive drunk driving attorney, call The Law Office of Jim A. Trevino.

Drunk Driving (DUI) Attorney Hanford | Drunk Driving Attorney Lemoore

Multiple Drunk Driving (DUI) Offenses

2nd, 3rd, and 4th Time Drunk Driving (DUI) Charges

People who have been charged with second or third Drunk Driving (DUI) offenses are considered multiple offenders. This means that, unlike first time offenders, they will face enhanced legal penalties if they are convicted. The reason for this is that despite being charged with driving under the influence once or twice before, multiple offenders still chose to break the law. The legal system frowns upon people who have been charged with multiple DWI offenses and it aims to teach them a lesson by subjecting them to tougher Drunk Driving (DUI) penalties if they are convicted. Below, the standard Drunk Driving (DUI) penalties for second and third Drunk Driving (DUI) offenses are outlined. In situations such as this, it is particularly crucial to involve an experienced Fairfax DWI attorney as soon as possible. A competent Drunk Driving (DUI) attorney can work to mitigate potential penalties that you may face and can strive toward a dismissal of charges altogether.

Second Drunk Driving (DUI) Conviction Penalties

People that are convicted for driving under the influence for the second time in California may be sentenced with:

Jail Time: up to a year (minimum of 10 days)
Fines: up to $2,500
Driver’s License Suspension: up to 3 years
Interlock Device: mandatory
Second Offense within 5 years

Up to 1 year in jail (minimum 20 days)
Fines of up to $2,500 (minimum $500)
Driver’s License Suspension: Up to 3 years
Mandatory jail time increases to 30 days if BAC > 0.15
Mandatory jail time increases to 40 days if BAC > 0.20
Mandatory minimum fine increases to $1,000.00 if BAC > 0.15
Second Offense with 5-10 years

Up to 1 year in Jail (minimum 10 days)
Fines of up to $2,500.00 (minimum $500)
Drivers License Suspension up to 3 years
Mandatory Ignition Interlock device
Mandatory jail time increases to 20 days if BAC > 0.15
Mandatory jail time increases to 30 days if BAC > 0.20
Mandatory minimum fine increases to $1,000.00 if BAC > 0.15
Third Drunk Driving (DUI) Conviction Penalties

People that are charged with driving under the influence for the third time in California will automatically be charged with a felony offense. If convicted, they may be sentenced with:

Jail Time: up to 5 years (minimum of 90 days)
Fines: up to $2,500
Driver’s License Suspension: may be indefinite
Interlock Device: mandatory
Third Offense within 5 years (Felony)

Up to 5 years in jail (minimum 6 months)
Fines of up to $2500 (minimum $1000)
Driver’s License Suspension: Indefinite
Mandatory Ignition Interlock device
Third Offense within 10 years (Felony)

Up to 5 years in jail (minimum 90 days)
Fines of up to $2500 (minimum $1000)
Driver’s License Suspension: Indefinite
Mandatory Ignition Interlock device
Fourth DUI Conviction Penalties

People that are charged with driving under the influence for the fourth time in California will automatically be charged with a felony offense. If convicted, they may be sentenced with:

Fourth or subsequent offense within 10 years (Felony)

Up to 5 years in jail (minimum 1 year)
Fines of up to $2500 (minimum $1000)
Driver’s License Suspension: Indefinite
Mandatory Ignition Interlock device
Probation mandatory for period of license suspension, up to three years.

Related Services: